U.S. DATA CENTER DECISIONS

Where projects move forward.
Where communities pause.

Data Center Decision Scoreboard

Full reported coverage · 47 statesLatest Ally review:

Explore reported pauses and bans, the independently verified subset, and the evidence still awaiting review. Imported coverage was compiled Sep 29, 2026; later reviews update individual records.

How we countReviewed project decisions

All tracked states. Reported and verified totals overlap; do not add them together. Tracked groups include historical actions, proposals and unresolved reports.

EXPLORE BY STATE

National coverage map

Open Project Watch map

Zoom into the map and select a pin to explore its policy and evidence. Local and state policies can overlap. Use the state filter to focus the map and register.

706 mapped groups of 708 matching records · 2 without a sourced location · All states

Loading geographic map…

Reported activeVerified activeUncertain or conflictingProposed or pendingEnded or rejectedNumbered circles group nearby records

Pins mark sourced jurisdiction or state representative points, not facility sites. Diamond pins represent statewide policies; teardrop pins represent local jurisdictions. Zoom into a numbered circle to explore its records. Pan, use +/−, or pinch to zoom.

STATE · COUNTY · CITY · TOWN · TOWNSHIP

National pause & ban register

708 location and policy groups across 47 states. Imported source coverage compiled ; later Ally reviews appear in the verified decision records. The register includes reported restrictions, proposals, disputed statuses and historical actions.

Active reports include independently verified entries as a subset. Other active reports remain research leads until Ally confirms the adoption, scope and current status. These groups cannot be added to the verified jurisdiction counts or used as a count of affected projects.

Verification queue

552 groups awaiting review: 267 reported active, not independently confirmed, plus 285 with uncertain or conflicting status. Proposed and ended actions remain visible separately.

708 matching groups · 267 reported active, not independently confirmed · 26 verified active · 91 proposed or pending · 285 uncertain or conflicting · 39 ended or rejected

Browse counts by government level
Anniston, ALCity · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-18 · End date: 2027-08-18

Scope / policy: All new data centers in the city's regulatory jurisdiction (existing facilities grandfathered)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-18 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Birmingham, ALCity · Status needs review

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Restrictions Added · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-03-03 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: >20 MW data centers (DC Blox & Nebius AI Factory exempt)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-03-03 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterTracker

Source status: passed · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-03-03 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Birmingham City Council unanimously approved a 270-day moratorium on applications for new or expanding hyperscale data centers on March 3, 2026. Facilities under 20 megawatts are exempt. Two existing projects (Nebius Oxmoor AI Factory at 300MW and one other) that filed before the vote are exempt. The moratorium gives the city time to develop comprehensive zoning and land use regulations for large-scale data center facilities. Nebius submitted its building permit on Jan. 29, weeks before the vote, and is not affected. The project involves 80 acres. (Jan 13, 2026 was the proposal/public-hearing date; the 270-day moratorium vote was March 3, 2026.)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Cullman, ALCity · Status needs review

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-22 · End date: 2027-06-22

Scope / policy: All new data centers (server farms, hyperscale, colocation)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-22 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterTracker

Source status: passed · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-06-22 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Cullman City Council unanimously passed a 1-year moratorium on data centers and directed staff to draft a potential outright prohibition.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Foley, ALCity · Verified active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-09-08 · End date: 2027-03-08

Scope / policy: Data centers, bitcoin and cryptocurrency mining, server farms and similar technology uses; MW thresholds to be set during the pause

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-09-14 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

No direct evidence link is available in this source observation.

Data Center Ally

Source status: Verified active · Verified active

Source record date: 2026-09-08 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Acceptance, processing, approval and consideration of applications for data centers, cryptocurrency mining, server farms and similar uses.

Ally evidence review:

Submit current evidence or a correction
Fort Payne, ALCity · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-16 · End date: 2026-12-16

Scope / policy: All new data centers (M2 heavy industrial proposed)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-16 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Harpersville, ALTown · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-09-01 · End date: 2027-03-01

Scope / policy: All data center development town-wide

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-09-01 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

No direct evidence link is available in this source observation.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Helena, ALCity · Proposed / pending

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: In Process · Proposed / pending

Source record date: 2026-08-10 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: New data centers, gas stations and auto businesses along several highway corridors

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Homewood, ALCity · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-22 · End date: 2027-06-22

Scope / policy: New data center applications

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-22 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Leeds, ALCity · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-08 · End date: 2027-06-08

Scope / policy: New data centers + expansions (Ordinance 2026-06-02)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-08 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Morgan County, ALCounty · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-23 · End date: 2027-06-23

Scope / policy: Bitcoin mining data center project

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Somerville, ALTown · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-30 · End date: 2027-12-30

Scope / policy: All data centers (triggered by proposed bitcoin mining facility near Union Road)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Springville, ALCity · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-07-06 · End date: 2027-07-06

Scope / policy: Data center proposals citywide

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Westover, ALCity · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-18 · End date: 2027-02-18

Scope / policy: All data centers citywide; 437-acre project on Highway 280 at Cheshire Drive

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-18 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Carroll County, ARCounty · Status needs review

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-17 · End date: 2027-06-17

Scope / policy: Data centers and other high-intensity digital infrastructure facilities

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-01 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterTracker

Source status: passed · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-06-17 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: NEW fight. On June 17 the Carroll County (AR) Quorum Court unanimously passed a 12-month emergency moratorium blocking construction and authorization of 'high-impact industrial and high-intensity digital infrastructure facilities' — data centers, AI computing, and crypto mining. Co-sponsors Justices of the Peace Harrie Farrow and Jack Deaton filed it as an emergency ordinance so it could be heard and passed in a single meeting (the court meets monthly). Cited concerns about power/water consumption and non-disclosure contracts; took effect immediately. Distinct from the Carroll County, GA and Carroll County, MD entries already in the DB.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
City of Harrison, ARCity · Rejected / failed

Pause / moratorium

DataCenterTracker

Source status: cancelled · Rejected / failed

Source record date: 2023-05-25 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Harrison passed a moratorium on data centers and crypto mining on May 25, 2023 after hundreds of residents objected to a Green Digital LLC crypto facility (a subsidiary with Chinese Communist Party ownership ties). The moratorium was actively removed on Nov 28, 2023 (~6 months in) after Arkansas Act 851 ("Right to Mine" law) preempted local regulation of crypto mining. The project involves 5 acres.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Independence County, ARCounty · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-10 · End date: 2031-08-31

Scope / policy: All data centers and crypto mines county-wide

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-10 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Little Rock, ARCity · Conflicting reports

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Proposed · Proposed / pending

Source record date: 2026-07-01 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: New large-scale data centers (follows June 2 regulations; $1B Google-led port project)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: rejected · Rejected / failed

Source record date: 2026-08-04 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

No direct evidence link is available in this source observation.

DataCenterTracker

Source status: delayed · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-07-07 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: A measure by City Directors Kathy Webb and Capi Peck to pause new hyperscale data center approvals through year-end was deferred to August 4, 2026 at the sponsors' request. As drafted, it would exempt the planned Google data center at the Port of Little Rock and only affect zoning applications in the 'hyperscale' category; the main opposition target is an AVAIO Digital project near Wrightsville in Pulaski County, alongside continued scrutiny of the Google Port project. UPDATE 2026-07-29: City Director Kathy Webb (Ward 3) is formally proposing to extend the halt from 6 to 18 months and to remove the earlier carve-out for the planned Google hyperscale facility at the Port of Little Rock. The proposal would require biannual public hearings with Entergy Arkansas and the developer present. Not yet voted on.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Madison County, ARCounty · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-17 · End date: 2029-08-31

Scope / policy: Data centers, digital asset mining and large-scale server operations

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-08-17 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Pulaski County, ARCounty · Rejected / failed

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Rejected · Rejected / failed

Source record date: 2026-07-28 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Scope needs review

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: rejected · Rejected / failed

Source record date: 2026-07-28 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterTracker

Source status: defeated · Rejected / failed

Source record date: 2026-05-26 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: The Pulaski County Quorum Court appeared to pass a one-year data center moratorium on May 26, 2026 (with an exemption carved out for AVAIO Digital's planned Wrightsville project), but on May 28 the county clerk announced she had miscounted — per Arkansas Advocate's review of the roll call, the tally was 8 yes / 6 no / 1 present (other outlets' recounts differ -- see flags), short of the 10 of 15 votes needed. The ordinance is expected to return at the June meeting. Pulaski is Arkansas's most populous county. The 12-month moratorium fell short of the 10 votes needed (8-6, 1 present); officials initially mis-reported it as passed, then corrected the next day. A new ordinance removing the AVAIO carve-out (sponsors JPs Ward, Blackwood, Davis) is set for an agenda meeting June 9 and a Quorum Court vote June 23. [Update 2026-07-08: A moratorium re-vote is pending 2026-07-14 (after this refresh window), with a carve-out for AVAIO Digital's Wrightsville project.]

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Russellville, ARCity · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-07-14 · End date: 2027-01-14

Scope / policy: New data center approvals city-wide

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-07-01 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Union County, ARCounty · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-30 · End date: 2027-07-09

Scope / policy: New DC development; Paradox Data 8 MW crypto facility expansion (Z Squared LOI) on hold

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-06-01 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Arizona, AZState · Conflicting reports

Incentive pause · Pause / moratorium · State policy — scope review

DataCenterTracker

Source status: passed · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-06-15 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: On June 15, 2026 Gov. Katie Hobbs signed Arizona's ~$18B FY budget, which includes a three-year moratorium on NEW data center sales/use tax exemptions. Existing data centers keep their exemptions (5-10 year terms) and new facilities can still be built — they just cannot newly qualify for the incentive during the pause. The 2013-era incentive costs the state ~$38M/year; a mixed outcome curbing subsidies without restricting development.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterBans

Source status: Signed by Gov. Hobbs — June 13, 2026 (effective July 1, 2026) · Status needs review

Source record date: Not supplied · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: FY2027 Budget

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Enacted · Status needs review

Source record date: Not supplied · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: FY2027 budget: 3-yr DC tax-incentive pause

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

No direct evidence link is available in this source observation.

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Announced · Proposed / pending

Source record date: Not supplied · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: AG statewide pause call

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

No direct evidence link is available in this source observation.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Chandler, AZCity · Status needs review

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Restrictions Added · Status needs review

Source record date: 2023-01-05 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Limits DCs to planned developments only

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Pima County, AZCounty · Reported active

Pause / moratorium

DataCenterBans

Source status: active · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-09-22 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Tucson, AZCity · Status needs review

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Restrictions Added · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-08-11 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Facilities over 25,000 sq ft or 20 MW

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
California, CAState · Proposed / pending

State policy — scope review

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Passed Legislature · Proposed / pending

Source record date: Not supplied · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: SB 886 / SB 887 / SB 1168 / AB 2383

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

No direct evidence link is available in this source observation.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Calipatria, CACity · Proposed / pending

Pause / moratorium

Interconnected Capital

Source status: Proposed · Proposed / pending

Source record date: 2026-05-12 · End date: 2031-05-12

Scope / policy: Large-scale DC facilities (Salton Sea region)

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

DataCenterTracker

Source status: pending · Proposed / pending

Source record date: 2026-05-12 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: Calipatria City Council voted 4-0 to advance an interim urgency ordinance for a temporary 5-year moratorium on large-scale data center approval/permitting/construction — the first Imperial County-area jurisdiction to formally consider blocking data centers. Tied to broader Salton Sea-area data center opposition. As of June 8, the 5-year moratorium remains an introduction only — the May 12 vote directed staff to advertise a formal public hearing to refine the ordinance before it takes full effect; no second-reading adoption has been confirmed. Mayor Michael Luellen said 'data centers, the only place that they exist, is in hell,' and council members faced recall notices around the same time.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
City and County of San Francisco, CACounty · Proposed / pending

Pause / moratorium

DataCenterBans

Source status: proposed · Proposed / pending

Source record date: 2026-09-15 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
City of Brawley, CACity · Status needs review

Pause / moratorium

DataCenterTracker

Source status: passed · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-05-19 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: On May 19, 2026, the Brawley City Council voted 3-2 (Grass and Kelley dissenting) to approve Ordinance No. 2026-03, an immediate moratorium on data centers requiring more than 50 MW of electrical demand or exceeding 250,000 sq ft of gross floor area (smaller server rooms and telecom hubs exempt). Introduced by Councilmember Gil Rebollar to give the city time to draft zoning, environmental, and infrastructure standards.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
City of Calexico, CACity · Status needs review

Ban · Pause / moratorium

DataCenterBans

Source status: enacted · Reported active

Source record date: 2026-09-16 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: See linked source for covered areas, facilities and exceptions.

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

No direct evidence link is available in this source observation.

DataCenterTracker

Source status: delayed · Status needs review

Source record date: 2026-06-03 · End date: Not confirmed

Scope / policy: The Calexico City Council was scheduled to consider a proposed data center moratorium at its June 3, 2026 meeting (alongside a public-safety budgeting mandate). No specific data center project in Calexico was identified — the measure appears precautionary amid the county-wide moratorium cascade. The June 3 vote outcome was not yet reported as of June 8. [Update 2026-07-08: On 2026-07-01, council voted 5-0 to abandon the moratorium approach in favor of directing staff to draft an outright ban ordinance, to return for a second reading/vote on 2026-07-15. Councilmember Diana Nuricumbo cited existing air quality/New River pollution as reasons to go further than a pause.] [Update 2026-07-20: The council's planned final vote on the outright data-center ban, originally set for 2026-07-15, was deferred to September due to the council's August recess.]

Imported research lead. Ally has not independently reviewed this source observation. Confirm the current policy, adoption, expiration and exceptions before relying on it.

Submit current evidence or a correction
Sources, coverage and counting limits

Location aliases are normalized and source observations are grouped. Extensions and multiple reports do not automatically become additional jurisdictions. Same-named towns and cities, overlapping governments and statewide bill groups may still need manual reconciliation. The register is a research collection, not an exhaustive national census.

State policies can overlap local ones. Tax-incentive pauses and policy reviews are labeled separately from construction or permit pauses. Different source trackers use different criteria; their raw totals cannot be compared one-for-one with Ally's grouped records. Imported coverage has its own compilation date, separate from Ally's verification dates.

Sources: Interconnected Capital; DataCenterBans; DataCenterTracker by Cam Acosta and George Ingebretsen (source: datacentertracker.org). DataCenterTracker data is adapted under CC BY 4.0; grouping, status categories and display have been changed. Imported source labels are not legal findings or endorsements.

INDEPENDENTLY REVIEWED EVIDENCE

Verified project decisions & restrictions

Reviewed decision scoreboardStatus snapshot:

30 reviewed decision records across 18 states. Verified restrictions are included in the coverage above. Project approvals and denials are counted separately.

Approvals count projects; restrictions count jurisdictions. They are different measures and do not form a win/loss ratio.

THE EVIDENCE BEHIND THE NUMBERS

Recent decisions

29 records shown · All states
Moratorium

Pierce Township data center approval pause

Pierce Township, OH

The current township page confirms that the data center moratorium runs through May 31, 2027.

Scope: Data center development approvals under township zoning while staff develops new regulations.

Date basis: October 9 is the confirmation date used for tracking, not adoption or legal effectiveness. The extension PDF is scanned and its precise adoption/effective date was not recovered. Excluded from adoption trends until those dates are confirmed.

Zoning reviewPublic input
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The township links its signed extension record.
  • No application exemption is established from the readable status page; confirm applicability with township zoning staff.

Effective / tracked from Oct 9, 2026 · Scheduled end May 31, 2027

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Wisconsin Rapids rezoning and land-division pause

City of Wisconsin Rapids, WI

The city confirms council adoption of a 12-month development moratorium on October 5, alongside a data center overlay district.

Scope: Consideration or issuance of rezonings, plats, certified survey maps and other land divisions enabling data center development within city limits.

Date basis: October 5 adoption is confirmed by the city timeline. October 9 is the tracking confirmation date for effectiveness; the packet requires passage and publication, and a final published instrument has not been recovered. Packet exceptions should be checked against the final ordinance.

Public healthNoiseWaterZoning review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The October 5 packet excludes submissions predating the effective date.
  • The packet says conditional-use, site-plan, architectural, plan-of-operation, zoning-permit and building-permit applications are not covered.
  • The packet allows limited land-division exemptions and one extension of up to six months.
  • The packet leaves the October 2027 expiry day blank; no exact end date or adopted extension is inferred.

Effective / tracked from Oct 9, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Ban

Pinellas County standalone prohibition

Unincorporated Pinellas County, FL

Commissioners reaffirmed the existing code prohibition in a September 24 resolution.

Scope: Standalone, large-scale data centers in unincorporated Pinellas County.

Date basis: Date of reaffirmation; the original prohibition predates this resolution.

Land use
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Ancillary data systems supporting permitted uses, such as hospitals or universities, may still be allowed.
  • The resolution confirms an existing prohibition; it is not counted as a new adoption in monthly trends.

Effective / tracked from Sep 24, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Ban

Eugene large-data-center prohibition

City of Eugene, OR

The city states it will deny land-use or building applications for the covered facilities.

Scope: Large, modern data centers that are not permitted uses or equivalent to allowed uses under the Eugene Land Use Code.

Date basis: Official page updated September 17. Original adoption date is not stated; excluded from adoption trends.

Land use
Exceptions, context & limits
  • This describes the city’s interpretation of its existing code, not a new moratorium.
  • Do not generalize the scope to every small server or ancillary IT facility.

Effective / tracked from Sep 17, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Project approved

Global AI special-use approval

Weld County, near Windsor, CO

County commissioners approved the land use by a 5–0 vote. This records a land-use milestone, not construction permits or permission for future expansion.

Scope: Use by Special Review permit USR26-0019 for an existing industrial facility.

Location
Approval conditions & limits
  • Additional building and construction approvals are separate.
  • Future phases are outside the verified approval.

Effective / tracked from Sep 9, 2026

Verified Sep 29, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Foley data-center application pause

City of Foley, AL

Council enacted a six-month pause while regulations and infrastructure impacts are studied.

Scope: Acceptance, processing, approval and consideration of applications for data centers, cryptocurrency mining, server farms and similar uses.

Date basis: Final council reading was September 8. September 9 announcement confirms it was in effect; exact legal commencement and calendar expiration require the ordinance.

Land-use reviewWaterPowerNoise
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The official summary does not provide a calendar expiration or application exceptions.

Effective / tracked from Sep 9, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Mattoon large data center application pause

City of Mattoon and its extraterritorial zoning area, IL

The city confirms council adoption of an application pause. The moratorium renews annually until council changes or ends it.

Scope: New data center developments larger than 21,780 square feet within the city and up to 1.5 miles beyond it where the city exercises zoning authority.

Date basis: The September 3 announcement reports Tuesday adoption, corroborated by the September 1 meeting page. September 3 is used as the confirmed announcement date for tracking effectiveness; the precise legal effective date is not established.

WaterPowerPublic healthInfrastructureCity finances
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Existing businesses may continue current operations.
  • The city will not accept covered new applications.
  • Annual renewal is automatic; a one-year calendar expiry is not inferred.

Effective / tracked from Sep 3, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Durham County large-data-center pause

Durham County, NC

County commissioners approved a nine-month moratorium while development rules are reviewed.

Scope: New data centers and expansions beyond 100,000 total square feet under county land-use authority.

Date basis: Council adoption date used for tracking. The official summary gives nine months without a calendar expiration.

InfrastructureLand-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Facilities below 100,000 square feet are exempt.
  • This is the county action; do not treat it as the separate City of Durham policy.

Effective / tracked from Aug 24, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Greensboro large-data-center moratorium

City of Greensboro, NC

Council adopted a 180-day pause by an 8–0 vote with one recusal.

Scope: Acceptance, processing and approval of development applications for data centers, data storage and processing facilities, and similar uses exceeding 10 MW of electrical demand.

Date basis: Council adoption date used for tracking.

Land-use reviewInfrastructurePublic input
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Already permitted projects and projects under construction are excluded.

Effective / tracked from Aug 18, 2026 · Scheduled end Feb 14, 2027

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Walker County 180-day moratorium

Unincorporated Walker County, GA

The Board of Commissioners enacted a 180-day moratorium and created a study group.

Scope: Data centers in unincorporated Walker County.

Date basis: August 6 meeting date; the summary gives a duration rather than an exact calendar expiry.

Land-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The August action follows an earlier short pause; count the county once.
  • Incorporated cities are outside the stated geographic scope.

Effective / tracked from Aug 6, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Under consideration

Lexington zoning rules under consideration

Lexington / Fayette County, KY

Recommendations for new data center rules remain separate from adopted restrictions. The October 6 meeting is for public input, not a confirmed final vote.

Scope: Planning Commission recommendations forwarded to the Urban County Council.

Zoning reviewPublic input
Exceptions, context & limits
  • No enacted outcome is inferred from the recommendation or meeting notice.

Effective / tracked from Jul 30, 2026

Verified Sep 29, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Chesapeake application pause

City of Chesapeake, VA

Council paused applications while requesting community meetings and additional zoning work. Subsequent conditional-use rules do not establish a citywide ban.

Scope: An eight-month pause on hearings and processing of data-center applications described in the city’s July 21 policy timeline; subsequent conditional-use and by-right frameworks have distinct applicability.

Date basis: City timeline states an eight-month pause; exact expiration and exceptions should be checked against the resolution.

Zoning reviewPublic input
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The city separately adopted conditional-use rules on August 18.
  • Coastal Virginia Commerce Park has a different by-right framework; check project applicability with the city.

Effective / tracked from Jul 21, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Cleveland standalone data center pause

City of Cleveland, OH

The council adopted Ordinance 556-2026 on July 15. The current city page states the permit pause is scheduled through October 20, 2026; existing operations are unaffected.

Scope: Review and issuance of permits or approvals for new principal-use data centers and expansion of existing standalone facilities.

Date basis: July 15 adoption is confirmed by council meeting highlights. September 29 remains a tracking confirmation date for effectiveness, not the legal effective date, which the cited sources do not establish.

Land-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • A possible extension of up to three months is not assumed.
  • Covered new principal-use facilities and expansion of existing standalone facilities are paused; existing operations are unaffected.

Effective / tracked from Sep 29, 2026 · Scheduled end Oct 20, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

New York covered DEC permit pause

New York State, NY

Executive Order 62 holds covered incomplete DEC applications pending an environmental review report. It does not pause local-government permissions under this provision.

Scope: Covered DEC discretionary applications for construction or expansion of qualifying facilities capable of consuming at least 50 MW.

PowerWaterNoiseRatepayer costs
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Applications DEC had already determined complete are excluded.
  • Specified research, educational, manufacturing and medical facilities are excluded.
  • End tied to the final environmental review and findings; no calendar expiry is stated in the cited provision.

Effective / tracked from Jul 14, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Knoxville large-data-center pause

City of Knoxville, TN

Council approved a one-year pause while city and planning staff develop safeguards.

Scope: Permitting or construction of large data centers.

Date basis: Council action date used for tracking. The official announcement states one year without an exact calendar expiration.

Land-use reviewPowerWaterNoise
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The official announcement does not specify a size or power threshold; do not import 10 MW from secondary summaries.
  • Exact legal dates and exceptions require the ordinance.

Effective / tracked from Jul 7, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Independence new-application pause

City of Independence, MO

The city announced a temporary pause to review development, infrastructure, fire and building requirements.

Scope: Certain permits, licenses and applications for new data centers and battery energy storage facilities.

Date basis: City announcement date; the source states a 180-day duration without an exact end date.

InfrastructurePublic safetyZoning review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Previously submitted, authorized or approved projects are exempt; the city specifically excludes Nebius.
  • 180-day duration; confirm the exact expiration with the city. Extension is possible.

Effective / tracked from Jul 6, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Linn County rezoning pause

Unincorporated Linn County, IA

An 18-month pause allows review of cumulative infrastructure and resource impacts. The county can extend the pause or end it early.

Scope: New applications to rezone to the EU-3 Large-Scale Data Center district; cities within the county are excluded.

Date basis: Effective date used; adoption day is not stated on the summary page.

WaterPowerInfrastructure
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Ends at 11:59 p.m. Central on January 1, 2028 unless changed.
  • Does not apply to incorporated cities within Linn County.

Effective / tracked from Jul 1, 2026 · Scheduled end Jan 1, 2028

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Holly Springs new-approval pause

Town of Holly Springs, NC

Town Council approved a pause of up to 12 months while the town reviews its development rules.

Scope: Approval of new data centers within the town.

Land-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • A pause on new approvals does not establish closure of existing facilities.
  • Consult the town for the exact expiration and application exceptions.

Effective / tracked from Jun 16, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Clayton County application moratorium

Unincorporated Clayton County, GA

Resolution 2026-134 extended the application pause through December 31, 2026.

Scope: Acceptance of permit, license or rezoning applications for establishing or expanding data centers.

Date basis: Latest verified extension date used for tracking; original adoption date remains unresolved.

Land-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Stated expiration is 11:59 p.m.
  • Official action can shorten or extend the pause.
  • The extension does not create another jurisdiction or new-adoption event.

Effective / tracked from Jun 16, 2026 · Scheduled end Dec 31, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Seattle data center siting pause

City of Seattle, WA

City Council adopted amended Council Bill 121214, temporarily stopping covered new siting while impacts are studied.

Scope: New facilities primarily storing and processing digital data, with capacity over 20 MVA and requiring uninterruptible power.

Date basis: Council adoption date used for tracking. Exact legal effective and expiration dates require the ordinance.

Land-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The capacity threshold is MVA, not MW.
  • The council announcement discusses a possible six-month extension; that option is not counted as an adopted extension.

Effective / tracked from Jun 9, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Lexington development pause

Lexington / Fayette County, KY

Council paused data-center applications while reviewing zoning, site design, environmental and resource requirements. The current official page still lists an October 31 expiration; a scheduled extension reading is not a confirmed extension.

Scope: Data center permits, development plans and zone changes in Fayette County.

Zoning reviewPublic input
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Scheduled end: October 31, 2026; an extension or replacement would require a new verified update.

Effective / tracked from Jun 9, 2026 · Scheduled end Oct 31, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

New Denmark data center siting pause

Town of New Denmark, Brown County, WI

Resolution 2026-04 establishes a one-year pause while the town studies siting and operating standards.

Scope: Placement of data centers within the town, including connected server and network facilities on contiguous parcels.

Date basis: June 8 is the resolution date and adoption date used for tracking. The official notice gives a one-year duration, without a separate effective date or explicit calendar expiry.

Zoning reviewWaterPowerNoiseInfrastructure
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The resolution allows a possible six-month extension; adoption of that option is not assumed.
  • No specific application exception is established in the cited notice.
  • No calendar expiration is inferred from the stated duration.

Effective / tracked from Jun 8, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Dane County hyperscale data center pause

Dane County towns subject to county zoning, WI

The county board adopted an 18-month pause for the county zoning area. Its current initiatives page continues to identify the moratorium.

Scope: Receipt of applications and grant of zoning permits for siting or construction of hyperscale data centers with at least 5,000 servers and at least 10,000 square feet.

Date basis: June 4 is the board adoption date used for tracking. The announcement initially awaited executive signature; the current board page confirms the moratorium, but the precise legal effective date is not stated.

Zoning reviewPowerWaterRegional planning
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Does not cover cities, villages or towns with their own zoning ordinances.
  • Smaller facilities are outside the stated hyperscale threshold.
  • The pause lasts 18 months or until rescinded, whichever comes first; no calendar expiry is calculated.

Effective / tracked from Jun 4, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Boulder County application pause

Unincorporated Boulder County, CO

The county pauses applications while it develops data-center definitions and land-use rules.

Scope: Acceptance of applications for data center uses in unincorporated Boulder County.

Date basis: June 2 is the stated effective date; consult the adopted resolution for the exact expiration.

Land-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The official project page states a six-month pause.
  • Potential prohibition is under review; it is not recorded here as an adopted ban.

Effective / tracked from Jun 2, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Project approved

Mason County data center rezoning

Unincorporated Mason County, KY

The city’s public-information page confirms adoption of the project rezoning. The approval concerns land use; it does not establish that construction or operation has begun.

Scope: Ordinance 26-03: project-related rezoning north of Germantown Road.

Land use
Approval conditions & limits
  • The planning commission approved a development plan with a condition; consult the adopted record for the complete requirements.

Effective / tracked from May 22, 2026

Verified Sep 29, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Ban

Monterey Park citywide prohibition

City of Monterey Park, CA

Data centers are prohibited citywide. This is a government policy, not the rejection of a single application. The council ordinance and later ballot implementation count as one jurisdiction.

Scope: Citywide prohibition under Ordinance 2278; the city also lists Ordinance 2279 implementing Measure NDC.

Land useCommunity compatibility
Exceptions, context & limits
  • See the ordinance for the definition of a covered data center and its applicability.

Effective / tracked from Jun 5, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Genoa Township data center and crypto-mining pause

Genoa Charter Township, MI

The board adopted Resolution 260202A and unanimously extended the pause for an additional six months on August 17 through Resolution 260817-B.

Scope: Acceptance and approval of new data center and cryptocurrency-mining applications within the township.

Date basis: The original packet specifies immediate effectiveness upon adoption. Approved August 17 minutes confirm the extension, but do not provide its exact calendar expiry.

Zoning reviewNoiseCommunity compatibility
Exceptions, context & limits
  • The original official staff memorandum says previously approved applications and vested rights are unaffected.
  • The August extension is counted within this jurisdiction's original policy record.
  • The approved minutes give an additional six-month duration without an explicit calendar expiry; none is inferred.

Effective / tracked from Feb 2, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Larimer County application moratorium

Unincorporated Larimer County, CO

The county confirms its application pause and a July 13 extension through February 25, 2027.

Scope: New data center land-use applications outside incorporated cities and towns.

Land-use review
Exceptions, context & limits
  • County zoning does not cover incorporated municipalities.
  • The extension is part of the same jurisdiction record.

Effective / tracked from Jan 27, 2026 · Scheduled end Feb 25, 2027

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction
Moratorium

Madison principal-use data center zoning pause

City of Madison, WI

Ordinance ORD-26-00002 pauses covered zoning approvals while the city develops new standards.

Scope: Zoning certificates for new principal-use data centers and telecommunications centers with more than 10,000 square feet of floor area.

Date basis: Legistar records council adoption January 13 and enactment January 24. The current status page identifies January 24, 2027 as the latest target for replacement zoning; no end date is assigned without the ordinance's operative expiry provision.

Zoning reviewPowerWaterInfrastructureFiscal impacts
Exceptions, context & limits
  • Ancillary facilities serving another permitted primary use, including a research lab or office, are excluded.
  • The current city page says zoning amendments will be adopted by or before January 24, 2027, ending the pause.
  • A draft prohibition on hyperscale centers has not received final council adoption.

Effective / tracked from Jan 24, 2026

Verified Oct 9, 2026 · Suggest a correction

PARTICIPATE · FOLLOW THE NEXT STEP

Upcoming votes, hearings & deadlines

Browse all events

Confirmed public-input meetings and stated expiration dates. A meeting does not imply an approval or a scheduled final vote. Check the linked notice before attending.

Expiration

Unincorporated Clayton County moratorium scheduled expiration

Scheduled end date — subject to change

Unincorporated Clayton County

Verified Oct 9, 2026

Expiration

City of Greensboro moratorium scheduled expiration

Scheduled end date — subject to change

City of Greensboro

Verified Oct 9, 2026

Expiration

Pierce Township moratorium scheduled expiration

Scheduled end date — subject to change

Pierce Township

Verified Oct 9, 2026

Expiration

Linn County moratorium scheduled expiration

11:59 p.m. Central — subject to change

Unincorporated Linn County

Verified Oct 9, 2026

CLEAR COUNTING RULES

What these numbers mean

Projects and places stay separate

Approvals and denials count unique projects at a documented local land-use decision in the selected year. A campus is one project, not one count per building or permit. Approval does not establish construction, energization or operation. An appeal or reversal must be recorded separately.

Reported and verified counts have different evidence

The reported active total includes source claims and the independently verified subset. The verified moratorium and ban metrics count adopted restrictions in distinct jurisdictions at the review snapshot. Extensions do not add jurisdictions. A jurisdiction can appear in both metrics if different policies apply. State and local jurisdictions can overlap; the totals are not a count of affected projects or residents.

Proposals are not decisions

Draft rules, staff recommendations and hearing notices remain under consideration. A project denial is not a ban. Restrictions in certain zones or on particular facility types must state their scope. Withdrawals and cancellations do not count as denials.

Coverage and dates are explicit

Reported coverage combines dated source collections with subsequent evidence reviews and is not a national census or a measure of public support. Sources and verification dates appear on each entry. Existing Project Watch status labels are not automatically counted. The status snapshot remains dated until the evidence is reviewed again; upcoming dates hide after their scheduled day.

More policy research · Project Watch directory · Decision dates in Events