01 / PROJECT SUMMARY
What the public record shows.
1501 Moran Road is a data center development in Sterling, Virginia. Penzance identifies the site in its portfolio. EdgeCore’s April 2026 financing announcement sets July 2027 as the initial-occupancy target for AS02; a target is not confirmation that the facility is operating.
Latest status detail: EdgeCore announced financing for AS01 and AS02 construction on April 21, 2026, with AS02 initial occupancy targeted for July 2027. Financing and a future target do not establish operation. Penzance identifies the Moran Road development; approved floor area remains to be reconciled.
What this proposal means for your community
Research checked October 6, 2026. The source dates below identify the evidence reviewed; unresolved questions remain open.
What is the development timeline?
EdgeCore announced financing for construction of AS01 and AS02 on April 21, 2026. Its 114 MW and 685,000-square-foot figures cover both facilities together and should not be assigned to this one site.
EdgeCore construction-financing announcement — April 21, 2026 ↗
Which figures still need reconciliation?
Penzance describes 7.65 acres and 260,000 square feet. The imported record gives 285,000 square feet. Check the latest approved plan before using either floor-area figure. A site-specific flood-zone conclusion also requires a parcel map and civil documents.
Questions to take to the next meeting
- What are the approved floor area, site boundaries and current permit milestones?
- What IT load and utility demand apply to AS02 alone?
- What do the current parcel flood map, drainage study and approved stormwater plan show?
Build your community meeting brief with the data center noise guide, water-use guide and grid-cost checklist.
- Site or address
- 1501 Moran Road
- Developer
- EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure / Penzance
- Owner or tenant
- Undisclosed
- Expected online
- July 2027 initial occupancy target (EdgeCore, April 21, 2026)
- Project cost
- Not reported
- Facility size
- 285,000 sq. ft.
- Property
- 8 acres
- Purpose
- Not reported
- Community or watchdog record
- FracTracker Alliance (national project monitor)
- Activity or stance
- Monitoring only; no pro/anti stance documented in source record
- Location confidence
- High
- Last source update
- 2026-04-21
“Officially sourced” means at least one government or permitting link is present. It does not mean the responsible jurisdiction has confirmed every field.